An Interview with Breanne Christmas

This informal interview is the product of a relaxed, Friday afternoon chat with Breanne Christmas. Her words remind me of soul, that depth of character we overlook too often. Bree is an accomplished artist who embraces her creativity through a Nikon D3000 camera and her mesmerizing spray-paintings. You would adore her humane perspective of the world that spreads a positive message about peace and love. We’ve known each other for over a year; she always knows how to fill my thoughts and lift me up. At 18 years of age– born July, 1993– Bree has gathered over 4 years of experience photographing and editing stunning images. Her eyes scale the vastness of domestic life, nature, surrealism, and abstraction, telling a silent narrative that will open up your heart.

While rummaging through her flickr sets, her facebook pictures, her youtube videos, and the photos she had already sent me, I couldn’t make up my mind which photos to showcase. So I’ll keep the blog updated with links to photos and paintings periodically.

Untitled (Woman and Universe)

Untitled (Woman and Universe)

Untitled (Psychedelic)

Untitled (Psychedelic)

I'm taking your mind with me, into lucidity

I'm taking your mind with me...

Untitled (Lightning Storm)

Untitled (Lightning Storm)

Marble

Marble

One day you'll have to answer to the children of the sky

One day you'll have to answer...

I caught her off guard with a few friendly questions over MSN Live Messenger 🙂 she later realized it was an interview.

Me: When did you start spray painting and photography?

Bree: “I started photography when I was like 14 or 15.”
Bree: “That’s when I started getting interested in it.”
Bree: “And spray paint was, um, 2 years ago, I think.”
Bree: “Wait, nevermind, last year!”

Me: Is flickr your favorite website?
Bree: “I guess, yeah.”

Me: Why?
Bree: “Why not? It’s awesome!”
Bree: “People are amazing with their photography.”

Did anything go wrong the first few times you tried to spray paint?
“Nope.”
Badass.
“I know right.”

Who bought you your first painting kit?
“I did.”

How’d you know what to buy?
“Um, looked it up.”

And you just ended up painting on bristle paper?
“You have to, nothing else would work.”

Sky Love

Sky Love

Stars of Gray, Come take my soul away, I've lost my way

Stars of Gray, Come take my soul away...

Dream On

Dream On

Fireworks

Fireworks

Sunset

Sunset

Untitled

Untitled

You think I could do it?
“Yesss.”

Where do you get your inspiration from? Or Who or what?
“I get it from music.”

Is all your art and photography based on music?
“Pretty much, nowadays yeah!”

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
“I see myself being a professional photographer.”

But you’re already pro

*Lol* “Traveling to cool places.”

Like where?

“Everywhere!”

So does music play a role in where you want to travel to?
“Not really.”

Are you in it for the full experience?
“Yesss.”

What’s your message for anyone who wants to be you in 5 years? In one word 🙂
“In one word, passion.”
“Follow”
“It.”

Morning Light

Morning Light

Untitled (Still life)

Untitled (Still life)

Untitled (This life keeps moving)

Untitled (This life keeps moving)

Untitled (Surreal)

Untitled (Surreal)

Untitled (Tracks)

Untitled (Tracks)

Cold Winter Day

Cold Winter Day

We might have only had a 10 minute talk, but I could look at these pictures forever 🙂 Thank you Bree for making the world colorful!

If you want to see more of Breanne Christmas’ works, visit her:

Breanne C

Breanne C

Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/61375587@N04/)
Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/user/breemb2)

Comments
One Response to “An Interview with Breanne Christmas”
  1. If I’ve known our conversation would end up online, i would of answered the questions a bit better 😛 haha

Reply here

